In my short time living here in Santa Fe, Cloacas has been one of the few local bands to really grab my attention. Sounding like the house band for an eerie dustbowl-era carnival sideshow, the sextet performs with a playfulness that’s often lacking in contemporary music. For any vaudevillian whimsy they conjure, there’s an equal measure of Appalachian folk darkness. Their wildly inventive approach has led them to become one of Santa Fe’s most beloved and respected acts. It’s only a matter of time for the rest of the world to catch on.

On September 30th, Cloacas will release their much anticipated new album …and the skies are not cloudy all day. Mecca Lecca is happy to share the opening track and debut single, “Playing in Traffic.” The song acts as a welcoming glimpse into the strange, wonderful world in which Cloacas soundtracks.

The creativity of Cloacas is not limited to the auditory arts. Founding members, Damon and Sabrina Griffith also produced some of the most beautiful album packaging you’ll find anywhere. This is the kind of album you’ll want to own a physical copy of.  Fortunately, …and the skies are not cloudy all day will be available on both limited edition sky blue marbled 12″ gatefold vinyl for $20, as well as 6 panel wallet cd for $12. Both versions are now available for pre-order.






…and the skies are not cloudy all day

Out 9/30/16

1. Playing in Traffic
2. Poison Sumac (Toxicodendron Vernix)
3. Tequila Mocking Bird
4. East Fought Shunt
5. Bug in the Dark
6. Just Another Day
7. The Great Rhinehart Tire Fire of 1983
8. Sundress Sashay
9. Bodma’s Room
10. Croissant Moon
11. When the Meadow Stares Back